For those of you doing Veganuary (but not Dry January) you may be interested to know that all Polgoon products – our juices, ciders and wines – are vegan approved.

WHAT’S A VEGAN WINE?

Vegan Juice at PolgoonIn brief, the reason most wines are not vegan or even vegetarian-friendly has to do with how the wine is clarified and a process called ‘fining’. Fining is the process that makes our wine clear and bright. Fining agents are used to help precipitate out any haze-inducing molecules that develop in young wines prior to filtration.

The fining process is traditionally carried out using isinglass from fish, egg albumen, gelatine or casein – both animal proteins. These methods are accepted by most vegetarians but not by vegans, because tiny traces of the fining agent may be absorbed into the wine during the process.  At Polgoon we’re a bit different. Our winemakers use clay-based agents such as bentonite, a naturally occurring clay which is particularly efficient at fining out unwanted proteins.

In order for our still and sparkling wines to obtain vegan-friendly status, the ingredients and production processes that we use here at Polgoon had to be checked, verified and approved by the Vegetarian Society.

And we didn’t stop there. In 2018 our entire range of low-alcohol fruit wines – our Raspberry sparkling wine and Elderflower sparkling wine, ciders and juices were also given vegan-friendly approval.  So for those of you doing both Veganuary and Dry January we have a range of delicious, refreshing juices for you to choose from.

Here’s to the power of plants and minerals and we wish you a happy and healthy 2019!